Skip to content

The four direct qualifiers and the teams that will play the Liga MX playoff were defined

The Clausura 2022 Tournament in Liga MX came to an end with all the positions defined. There were 18 teams that competed, but not all of them will be in the second phase. Find out in the following note which teams are classified to the Liguilla directly and who will seek to enter through the playoffs.

The first four places will be in the league directly: Pachuca, Tigres, Atlas and America. While those located in positions five to 12 must play the playoff.

Those who will seek their pass and the order of the matches will be as follows: Puebla, fifth, will receive Mazatlán, twelfth; Guadalajara, sixth, to the Pumas, eleventh; Monterrey, seventh to San Luis, tenth, and Cruz Azul, eighth, to Necaxa, ninth.

The four classified directly to the quarterfinals will have to wait for the playoff teams to be defined, a phase in which the teams that finish in places 5 to 12 enter and in which they face a single match.

The first 4 places in the table of positions after 17 days will be relocated in places 5 to 8, according to their position in the table, to play the quarterfinals.

Playoff matches

  • Puebla vs. Mazatlan
  • Chivas vs. Cougars
  • Monterey vs. Athletic Saint Louis
  • Blue Cross vs. Necaxa

The scoring champion in Mexico

French striker André-Pierre Gignac, from the Tigres, became the Mexican soccer scoring champion for the third time, on Sunday by finishing as the top scorer in the regular phase of the Clausura-2022 tournament with 11 goals scored.

In the regular phase of this Clausura-2022 tournament, Gignac played 16 games, all as a starter, and distributed his 11 goals in 10 games (in one he achieved a double, against Juárez).

Source: Elcomercio

Share this article:
globalhappenings news.jpg
most popular