Skip to content

Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay relaunch joint candidacy for the 2030 World Cup

Government and sports authorities from Paraguay, Argentina, Chile and Uruguay ratified this Thursday their political and soccer decision to relaunch the candidacy of these four South American countries to host the 2030 World Cup.

The Vice President of Paraguay, Hugo Velázquez, chaired the meeting of representatives of the four countries in Asunción. “Our goal is to re-launch the intention of the four governments to carry out the 2030 World Cup, after the pandemic”said the Vice President of Paraguay at a press conference after the meeting.

Velázquez announced that a working table will be formed in Montevideo, in less than a month, to establish a calendar that contemplates the actions to be carried out to promote the joint candidacy.

The vice president highlighted that the four countries of South America cannot compete in economic terms with the world powers and that, nevertheless, “what is wanted is to resort to history and above all, to what football represents for this part of the continent, so that the contest is played in Paraguay, Chile, Argentina and Uruguay”.

The politician said that the four countries will be obliged to establish infrastructure works, but that after the completion of the competition they will remain as a legacy for the soccer of each nation.

Velázquez commented that the Development Bank of Latin America (CAF) offered to finance the building needs, in case the proposal succeeds.

We want to remind you that the first World Cup was in South America (in Uruguay in 1930) and that the continent that exports the best players in the world are South Americans,” he remarked.

Velázquez said that the protagonists of the meeting, presidents of the soccer associations of the four countries, instructed the president of Conmebol, Alejandro Domínguez, “for this to come true.”

Source: Elcomercio

Share this article:
globalhappenings news.jpg
most popular