Skip to content

Costa Rica announces its squad for the Qatar 2022 World Cup

Luis Fernando Suárez, through a press conference, announced the list of 26 players who will represent the Costa Rican national team on the world Cup. With this, the ‘Ticos’ become the first team in Latin America to make their summons official.

The payroll includes three goalkeepers, nine defenders, eleven midfielders and three forwards. Let us remember that, in the Qatar 2022 World Cup, Costa Rica is located in Group D along with Spain, Germany and Japan.

Among the announced names, Keylor Navas, Celso Borges, Brayan Ruiz and Joel Campbell stand out, who were also the architects of that mythical participation in Brazil 2014, where they reached the quarterfinals.

Costa Rica squad list


  • Keylor Navas (PSG)
  • Esteban Alvarado (Herediano)
  • Patrick Sequeira (Deportivo Lugo)


  • Francisco Calvo (Konyaspor)
  • Juan Pablo Vargas (Millionaires)
  • Kendall Waston (Saprissa)
  • Oscar Duarte (Al-Wehda)
  • Daniel Chacon (Colorado Rapids)
  • Keysher Fuller (Herediano)
  • Carlos Martinez (San Carlos)
  • Bryan Oviedo (Real Salt Lake)
  • Ronald Matarrita (Cicinnati)


  • Yeltsin Tejeda (Herediano)
  • Celso Borges (Alajuelense)
  • Youstin Salas (Saprissa)
  • Roan Wilson (Municipal Greece)
  • Gerson Torres (Herediano)
  • Douglas Lopez (Herediano)
  • Jewison Bennette (Sunderland)
  • Alvaro Zamora (Saprisa)
  • Anthony Hernandez (Puntarenas)
  • Brandon AguileraNottingham Forest
  • Bryan Ruiz (Alajuellense)


  • Joel Campbell (Leon)
  • Anthony Contreras (Herediano)
  • Johan Venegas (Alajuelense)

Group D: Costa Rican fixture

  • November 23: Spain vs. Costa Rica – 10:00 a.m.
  • November 27: Japan vs. Costa Rica – 04:00 a.m.
  • December 1: Costa Rica vs. Germany – 1:00 p.m.

*Costa Rica time.

Source: Elcomercio

Share this article:
globalhappenings news.jpg
most popular