Skip to content

Qualifiers and jump-offs in the Europe zone

The first phase of the qualifiers for the Europe zone is over. In total, ten teams have validated their tickets for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, including France, Germany, England, Belgium, Spain and the Netherlands. Twelve play-offs including Portugal and Italy, as well as the surprise North Macedonia, will compete for the last three tickets at the end of the playoffs played at the end of March. A total of 34 teams will watch the festivities on television, including Norway and Romania.

The draw for the play-offs will take place in Zürich on November 26. The twelve play-offs (the ten runners-up in the group and two teams selected according to the final classification of the League of Nations: Austria and the Czech Republic) will then be divided into three tables. Within each of them will be played the semi-finals (March 24 and 25) and a final (March 28 and 29) in a single match, with extra time and penalties. The winner of each final will get his place at the 2022 World Cup.The six best-ranked runners-up in qualifying, seeded in the draw, will have the advantage of receiving at home in the semi-final: This is Portugal, Scotland, Italy, Russia, Sweden and Wales. Another draw will determine which nation will host its home opponent in the play-off final.

Qualified teams:

Germany, England, Belgium Croatia Denmark Spain France Serbia Switzerland Netherlands

Dam teams:

Austria, Scotland, Italy, North Macedonia, Wales, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Russia, Sweden, Ukraine, Turkey


Share this article:
globalhappenings news.jpg
most popular