Skip to content

The playoff to the Qatar 2022 World Cup will be played as a single match, FIFA confirmed

The playoff for the Qatar 2022 World Cup will be played as a single match. Unlike the previous Qualifiers, where the last classified in roundtrip commitments were defined, the format will change. This Friday, FIFA confirmed the rumor that circulated a few days ago and directly involves the teams of Conmebol, Concacaf, AFC (Asia) and OFC (Oceania).

The closing of the Qualifiers, according to the official note, will be “With the celebration of the two intercontinental qualifiers, which this time will be played as a single match, on June 13 and 14, 2022”, in reference to the games that the aforementioned confederations will face.

The draw for the intercontinental play-offs to obtain a pair of tickets to the Qatar 2022 World Cup will be held on Friday, November 26 in Zurich, where the FIFA headquarters are located. The ceremony will start from 11 in the morning (Peruvian time) and will be broadcast through the official website of the governing body of football.

For the Concacaf, the fourth classified of the final league will participate in this intercontinental play-off; for Conmebol the fifth; for Asian confederation the winner of the match that will be played by the third classified of each group of the third round; and for the oceanic the winner of the qualifying phase.

In the same note, FIFA recalled that, in the Qualifiers four years ago, Australia and Peru were the teams that managed to qualify for Russia 2018 with their triumphs against Honduras and New Zealand, respectively.

UEFA crosses

The event called for next week will also have as an attraction the conformation of the keys to know the path of the European team to get the three remaining tickets that allow them to say present at the next World Cup.

The repechage for this continent has teams such as Portugal, Scotland, Italy, Russia, Sweden, Wales, Turkey, Poland, North Macedonia, Ukraine, Austria and the Czech Republic.

The World Cup qualifiers

By UEFA, Germany, Denmark, Belgium, France, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, England, Switzerland and the Netherlands already have a place for the World Cup. Brazil and Argentina have also secured their pass through Conmebol, and Qatar as the host team.


Share this article:
globalhappenings news.jpg
most popular