Skip to content

Hero again: Courtois denied the goal to Raúl García who shot a penalty in Real Madrid vs. AthleticClub | VIDEO

Lima, January 16, 2022Updated on 01/16/2022 04:02 pm

He is there when the white team needs him. Raúl García failed to take advantage of a penalty in favor of the ‘lions’, since Thibaut Courtois denied him the goal with a luxury save in Real Madrid vs. AthleticClub.

Just as in the semifinal against Atlético de Madrid, Marcelino’s team was able to react with splendor to the goal received, this time they were unable to overcome the potential of the fittest team in Spain so far this season. In any case, Raúl García could have changed the dynamic if his header in the 64th minute had found the goal.

In the 86th minute, another header from the player from Pamplona hit Éder Militao’s left hand as the ball headed for the goal and the referee, again after reviewing the VAR, awarded a penalty and sent off the Brazilian central defender. But Raúl García’s own shot was cleared by Courtois with his left leg and he sealed the title for the Whites.

Since 1958, Athletic Club and Real Madrid have not met in a final. 64 years ago the ‘lions’ beat the ‘merengues’ 2-0, with goals from Arieta and Mauri, in the decisive match of the Generalissimo Cup at the Chamartín Stadium.

The result was repeated. But this time it was in favor of the white team and, in this way, Real Madrid achieved the twelfth Spanish Super Cup in its history and is only one behind Barcelona, ​​the team that has achieved the most.

.

Share this article:
globalhappenings news.jpg
most popular